Temenos Journal II

June 1, 2013

Ho’oponopono – Hawaiian Peacemaking

Filed under: Temenos Journal — by Genie Webster @ 10:47 am

Mantra

Ho’oponopono is the ancient Hawaiian practice of reconciliation and forgiveness. The peacefully- oriented people had a method of resolving squabbles among family and community members. It’s a practice of prayer, forgiveness, and restoring right-thinking.

Ho’oponopono is “mind cleansing.”

Here’s how I use “ho’oponopono” in my personal spiritual practice….

There once was a co-worker that really knew how to push my buttons. Let’s call him Frank. Frank seemed to be addicted to drama, and on weaker days, I would allow myself to get sucked in. He was negative and full of complaints. He was sometimes rude and disrespectful. I avoided him as much as I could, and was able to deflect his negative projections most of the time. But in general he irritated the hell out of me and seemed to get some satisfaction out of that fact.

One day it was announced that Frank and I were assigned to go to a business conference together. We were to drive together three hours each way, as well as have meals together and in short spend the whole friggin day together.

I had a choice… I could let the situation ruin my day… or I could take charge of my mind. It did not take me long to decide for the latter.

On the morning of the conference, as I was getting ready at home before the long trip with my nemesis, I played my favorite recording of the “Ho’oponopono” chant. I played it over and over. I sang along and internalized the message. I visualized Frank with a peaceful smile on his face, and I imagined him as courteous and benign. I sang the chant to Frank over and over until it sunk into my subconscious pretty good.

By the time I met Frank at the office, my attitude towards him was different. Frank was different. He actually turned out to be a decent companion and our working relationship kept improving after that day.

Now… whenever I feel irritation or tension creeping up in any relationship, I know I have the tool to cleanse my mind… get back to “right” thinking (that is, thinking like God). It works every time.

You might also enjoy:

Advanced Forgiveness Lesson

On Mind Training

Detach and Allow

 

ho'oponopono

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for sharing. I’ve practiced that before with the same results. But it’s always good to hear a reminder!! Luv you!

    Sent from my iPhone

    Comment by Jerry Avila — June 1, 2013 @ 12:48 pm |Reply

  2. […] on my right shoulder just as a reminder that I would be guided. And as I got dressed, I prayed “Ho’oponopono” while I visualized the music director in perfect […]

    Pingback by Inner Guide Story: “Do nothing” is not necessarily passive | Rabbit Hole Journal — May 19, 2014 @ 3:58 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

