Temenos Journal II

October 21, 2012

… which reminds me of Richard Nixon

Richard Nixon was famous for being the lying president who would rather be king. He tried to control the media because he was president. He famously “unplugged” a newscast that was reporting something he did not want aired. He proved not to be of good character.

I wonder… Were there any clues in his campaign that should have been “red flags” to the American citizens? I wonder…  If the Internet had been around at that time, would he still have been elected?

I’m thinking about Richard Nixon because I was reminded about him as I reflected on the life of George McGovern, who just passed away.

Oh how the youth supported George McGovern in the day. George McGovern was the anti-war candidate. The election was very, very close.

Anyway… It seems to me that more and more red flags are popping up around Romney. Who is he really?

A dear friend of mine, who is an open-minded Republican who very rarely votes Democrat, had been sitting on the fence about this election until the last debate. She called me in a panic… “Oh my god,” she said, “I can’t possibly vote for Romney.” I asked her why she seemed so upset about that. “Well I thought my mind was pretty well made up and I can’t believe I am actually leaning towards Obama. I can’t stand Romney. He gives me the creeps and I can’t get past that.”

It was as if a light bulb went off in her head… three weeks before the election. It was an intuitive gut feeling about the candidate’s character, and she’s going with her gut feeling, the way a lot of women do.

Mitt Romney lies too easily and too often. Even the Republicans don’t trust him. Who does that remind you of?

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

