Temenos Journal II

June 8, 2011

The Weiner Admission

What strikes me about the Weiner Admission is how childish this guy is. No, he did not break any law (I don’t think). I don’t know if he broke any rules job-wise.

But he certainly revealed his true character. He certainly revealed what he focuses his mind on in his spare time (seems to have a lot of spare time, doesn’t he?)

It’s one thing to be emotionally immature… that’s his and his family’s problem. What concerns me is that I wonder if Mr. Weiner has control over his impulses. Shouldn’t he be focusing on his job? If he can’t control his impulses in his personal life… will he be able to control his impulses while he is representing the people of his district?

It all comes down to the Peter Pan Syndrome, which was explained in the 1983 book, The Peter Pan Syndrome: Men Who Have Never Grown Up, by Dr. Dan Kiley.

The Peter Pan syndrome is a desire to remain young emotionally, and not face the responsibilities of being a grown-up. It’s like being in a juvenile rut. Although not wanting to grow up is usually a normal part of the adolescent mindset, it can become a problem if Peter Pan continues to shun adulthood emotionally in his “grown-up” years. He would rather… play.
 
Wendy: I guess it becomes clearer when you grow up.
Peter Pan: Well, I will not grow up. You cannot make me!
 
 

Hook: If I were you, I’d give up!
Peter: If you were me… I’d be ugly!

1 Comment »

  1. Today Anthony Weiner gave in to the demands from both parties that he resign from office. Wimpy Weiner! I think he should have stuck it out until the next election. He got all soft. I think he should have held on! C’est la vie… avec une Saucisse!

    Comment by Genie Webster — June 16, 2011 @ 5:19 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

